Model Town tragedy worst incident of violation of human rights: Dr Tahir-ul-Qadri

Addressing the consultative meeting at the central secretariat via telephone, PAT Chairman Dr Muhammad Tahir-ul-Qadri has said that Model Town tragedy is the worst incident of barbarism and violation of human rights. He asked the legal community, national and international NGOs working for human rights, and the government institutions to play their role in helping the family members of Model Town tragedy to get justice. He said that there is no parallel to an act of terrorism perpetrated by the police in Model Town on June 17 at the behest of the government. He said that Judicial Commission has already identified the central characters involved in Model Town incident in its report, adding that what to speak of administration of justice in a span of one and half years, even the copy of the Judicial Commission’s report has not been handed over to the families.

Dr Tahir-ul-Qadri said that culture of violation of human rights, fake police encounters and lawlessness was promoted purposefully. He said that media houses were also attacked in recent times whose perpetrators have yet to be arrested. He said that on arrival in the country, he will review the Model Town case from every angle, adding that we would not rest till we get justice for the Model Town victims. He said that the government’s JIT report, arrests of officials and statements are part of the grand design. He said that all planning will go waste and the truth will be victor. He said that the perpetrators of Model Town tragedy are using their official positions to hinder the process of justice.

Dr Qadri further said that the major reason behind corruption, lawlessness and violation of human rights is fake mandate and discretionary powers. He said that those having vast discretionary powers have not let the institutions of justice and accountability become strong.

The consultative meeting was attended by Khurram Nawaz Gandapur, Major (r ) Muhammad Saeed, Basharat Aziz Jaspal, Naeem-ud-Din Ch Advocate, Ishtiaq Ch Advocate, Noorullah Siddiqi, Sajid Bhatti and others.