Intercollegiate Competitions 2010 at Minhaj College for Women

Minhaj College for Women organized an Inter-Collegiate competitions on the eve of annual celebration of Quaid’s birthday from Feb 16th to 18th, 2010 under the supervision of Bazm-e-Minhaj. A large number of students participated from different educational institutions of Lahore.

Qirat, Naat and Islamic Declamation contests were held on February 16, 2010. The Jury for Qirat Competition consisted of Qari Muhammad Akram Faizi, Qari Noor Muhammad and Qaria Rubina. Hafiza Maryam Kalim from Govt College Samana Abad took the first position, Aneesam Roof from Lahore College for Women University took the second position and Safana Dogar from Queen Merry College took the third position.

In Naat Competition, the Jury comprised Irshad Azam Chishti, Sarwar Siddique and Miss Zara Hashmi. The names of prize winners are as follows.

1st : Saba Shafqat (Govt College Lahore)
2nd : Azam Waheed (Queen Merry College)
3rd : Muneeba Ejaz (Govt College Samana Abad)

Speech competition

The Jury members were Mr. Afzal Kanju, Associate Professor Minhaj College for Women Lahore, Miss Farah, Head of Department Islamic Studies Kinnaird College Lahore and Miss Farkhand Habib, Assistant Professor F.G.College Lahore.

The name of prize winners were as follows:

1st: Munazza Hayat (Govt College Saman Abad Lahore)
2nd: Amna Mukhtar (Akhtar Majeed Girls Degree College)
3rd: Huma Yaqoob (Govt Islamic College Lahore)

Nazim-e-Ala Minhaj-ul-Quran International, Dr Raheeq Ahmad Abbasi, Vice Chancellor of Minhaj University Prof Dr Ali Muhammad, Director General Irani Council Dr. Abbas, senior journalist and columnist Professor Hassan Askari Rizvi, Secretary Education Board Punjab and member of Punjab Assembly, Miss Ayesha Javed were among the honorable guests.

Nazim-e-Ala Minhaj-ul-Quran international distributed the prizes among position holders. The V.C. of Minhaj University addressed the students. He said that that dignity is in labour and students should achieve their goal only by working hard. In the end Nazim-e-Ala Dr. Raheeq Ahmad Abbasi appreciated the students by saying that Minhaj College for Women has the honor to provide enough chances to the students to polish their creative abilities. He also said that the real purpose of these programmes is not only to get the position but also to perform an effective role for the country and to get confidence by expressing our opinions.

On February 17, 2010:

Quiz contest, Gazal & Poem contests and flower arrangement competition was organized on 17 February. Miss Zara Hashmi took the responsibility of stage secretary in Quiz Contest. 1st position was won by the host College but being the host, it withdrew from its position. In this way the position holder teams were as follows.

1st: Queen Merry College.
2nd: Akhtar Majeed Girls College.

Second session consisted of Gazal and poem contest. Miss Syyida Ayesha and Miss Nadia Shaheen were the stage secretaries and the jury members were Ms Shehnaz Mozammil, Ms Tenoosh Firdous and Ms Shiba Taraz.

The name of the position holders in Ghazal contests were as follows:

1st: Iqra Shar (Govt College Wahdat Road Lahore)
2nd: Payal Khan (Garrison College Lahore)
3rd: Nabiha Arshad (Govt College Samanabad Lahore)

The students who took positions in poem contests were.

1st: Sayyida Ayesha (Minhaj College for Women) she withdrew from her position being the host, so the revised positions were.

1st: Aneela Jabbar (Govt College Wahdat Road Lahore)

2nd: Saba Ishaq (Govt College for Women,University)

3rd: Shama Maqsud (Govt College Samana Abad Lahore)

Flower arrangement competition

Mrs. Aleena Tiwana,Ms Shaheen & Ms Nasreen were the jury members. The result of dry flower arrangement was:

1st: Arooj Saeed (Akhtar Majeed Girls College Lahore)

2nd: sadia Waheed (Govt College Gulberg Lahore)

3rd: Ayesha Khalid (Govt College Wapda Town Lahore)

The result of fresh flower Arrangement was as per the following:

1st: Rabeel Arshad (Govt College Gulberg Lahore)

2nd: Asima Shehzadi (Govt College Wapida Town Lahore)

3rd: Zobia Nisar(Akhtar Majeed Girls College Lahore)

Sheikh Zahid Fyyaz, Senior Naib Nazim-e- Ala Minhaj-ul-Quran International, Mr Tahir Yaqoob, Nazim Aziz Bhatti Town and Ms. Nishoo Begum were the respected guests. The chief guest was Dr. Syyid Shabeeh-ul-Hassan, Chairman International Urdu Council who appreciated the efforts of the college administration and students.

February 18, 2010 Thursday:

The first session was dedicated to English debate. The topic was “Crisis Develops the Nations”. Miss Maryam Shoukat and Miss Amna Saif were the stage secretaries and the jury members were Mr.Shakeel Amjad, former Head of Department of English in the Punjab College of Commerce, Miss Farzana Aslam, visiting Lecturer Punjab University & Habiba Hussain, lecturer of Kinnaird College.

The names of the position holders were as per the following:

1st: Sana Akram (Govt College University Lahore)

2nd: Maryam Sami (Govt Garrison College Lahore)

3rd: Zoya Shakeel (Home Economics College Lahore)

The revered chief guest was Mr. Hassan Mohi-ud-Din Qadri, president of Supreme Council of Minhaj-ul-Quran International and member of Board of Governors of the Minhaj University Lahore. At the end of the 1st session the esteemed chief guest appreciated the English Literary Society and praised the quality of speeches delivered on the occasion.

Urdu Debate Contest was conducted in the second session.

The stage secretary was Miss Naheed Akhtar and jury members were Professor Sajjad Masud Qureshi, Mr.Rizwan Mujahid, Lecturer Govt College Township and Mrs. Shazia Sajid, Lecturer of Kinnaird College.

The 1st position was won by Miss Sidra Jabeen from the host college but following the tradition, college decided to withdraw from this position and in this way the positions were given to the following students:

1st: Mamoona Muqarrab (Govt Garrison College)

2nd: Shamazat Babar (Govt Fatima Jinnah College)

3rd: Fiza Qosain (Govt College Wapidas Town Lahore)

The honorable chief guest in the second session was Dr Muhammad Khairat Ibn-e-Rasa, Vice Chairman Minhaj Education Society, former Vice Chancellor of Punjab University, Kashmir University and Bahauddin Zakariya University.

The other respected guests were Muhammad Shahid Lateef, Director MES, Mr. Muhammad Mustafa (G.M Malik), Mr. Rana Fayaz, Mr. Sarfraz Ahmad and Dr, Asma Mamdot, member of Punjab Assembly and member Punjab Education Society.

The honorable chief guest appreciated the students and felicitated the Minhaj Women College. He said that such competitions needed to be held to give vent to the opinions of people and make them part of national development. He said that students were an important community and national educational policy should be designed in a way as to encourage them to polish their talents in a befitting manner.

In the end, chief guest and Dr, Asma Mamdot distributed prizes among the position holders for participating in all the competitions and for getting the maximum positions collectively Govt College Saman Abad Lahore was awarded the trophy. Mrs. Farha Naz Principal Minhaj College for Women, thanked all the guests and participants for making all these competitions successful.